ARC Review of “Deeper” By Blue Ashcroft

Deeper

Title: “Deeper”

Author: Blue Ashcroft

Publish Date: 8/3/2013

How I Got a Copy: From NetGalley in exhcange for an honest review

Link To Purchase On Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Deeper-ebook/dp/B00EA1YDLM/ref=sr_1_1?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1378386971&sr=1-1&keywords=deeper

Summary From GoodReads:

Rain Wilson isn’t ever going to love again.

It’s a promise she made the day her boyfriend died in a water park accident, one she still blames herself for.  Now she’s a senior lifeguard in a new town with a new pool and she’s just going to keep her head down and everyone safe.

Until a mysterious guy follows her into the waves at the pre-season bonfire and kisses her senseless.  It’s just one mistake, and Rain is determined to put it behind her, until the dark haired, blue eyed hottie turns out to be her new co-supervisor Knight Mcallister. 

Knight is hot, tatted, and carrying baggage of his own.  He’s not happy about having Rain for a co-supervisor, and he’s even less happy about his attraction to her.  

But between lifeguard drama, hot underwater kisses, and a growing attraction between them that can’t be stopped, Knight and Rain are being pulled deeper into their pasts, and realizing that sometimes too much broken can make a relationship impossible.

Then again sometimes it’s the broken parts of us that fit together best.

My Overall Thoughts:

First Of all I have to say that Rain and Knight are awesome character names and had me interested from page one. The way the author started the story really was..hot..and catching – it 100% had me wanting to read more of that – and so I kept reading….

I absolutely have never wanted to be a life guard more in my life, it made it a HOT profession for sure. But I really liked how honest the story was and how real it was about what can happen – that all life guards do deal with serious things, not just looking hot and swimming around in the pool. Blue and Knight both had really tragic things happen to them and it left them both so hesitant to be vulnerable with other people.

So to the story. When I first started reading it, to be honest, the first chapter was catching, but in reality who does that? It was a pretty intimate moment to have with someone you don’t know at a work party who may work under you when the season starts – maybe even a little in appropriate. But all that being said, it kept me turning the pages. When they did discover who they were in relation to the job, I caught myself already silently cheering for them to continue despite the fact they shouldn’t because of their job titles. The interesting thing I think is the fact they they were both so scarred and didn’t want to trust anyone allowed them to have the intimacy with a stranger that night in the water, but it’s also that same tragedy that kept them from wanting anything more when they fully realized who the other person was. The story from there on out was sort of like a yo-yo and I will admit frustrating at some points. I think that some of the back and forth could have been eliminated, but overall I kept rooting for Knight and Rain! I really wanted them to work out, to both get over their demons. The author did a great job throwing in some plot action, while still making it believeable based on the storyline and the context of the story. So, overall I thought it was a fresh and different storyline – it had points that were frustrating but overall I thought all the moments of the book added up to a great overall story.

As far as the life guard portion of the book, I thought it was done really well. The descriptions of events that could happen, of how to save someone, and of actual job duties seemed pretty realistic to me. It’s also a great summer read – being that  it’s based in a summer setting with a water background and with YA working their summer job, so it screams summer beach read to me. It also has a “coined” summer romance.

The Romance – I really enjoyed the romance in this book. It’s hard to find a story that i haven’t seen before in some form or fashion and I haven’t seen one in awhile where both the boy and girl were fighting demons in their own ways. I rooted for them both to overcome those demons in a serious way – and I”ll get more into the characters next but I thought they were written very well. Knight – what a HOT name and Rain is refreshing – like rain.. It definetly says something about the story and not using the cliche story or names. I found that the back story for both characters was real and although intense as to what they experienced, gave the story some meat. Knight is so swoon worthy, he was absolutely my book boyfriend for the time I was reading this – and the understanding he had for Rain and her situation was beyond amazing. I also thought it pointed out that the coping was not healthy and I liked that they both ended up in therapy which is what needed to happen after what they experienced.

The Characters:

Knight —

Knight is just like his name sake, a knight in shining armor – or a shining bathing suit in this case. He was real and wasn’t afraid to admit his fears. I like that the novel was narrated by both characters so you could see what was going on in both of their minds, I think that was really key here to understanding the back story and how it affects them both now. That being said, what Knight experienced was horrific to say the least and while it was different than what Rain experienced, they both had issues being trustworhty or putting their feelings out there for someone else for fear of being hurt. The one thing I did not like about Knight was the way he acted during their small “interval” where they were not together. The whole scene with the two girls in the hot tub seemed kind of… unrealisitic, I mean really? You are single for one day and two girls maul you in a hot tub and offer to basically go all the way – that is not reality. But other than that, I have to say I thought he had layers, was honest, was genuine, and fought for what he wanted – even though it may have taken awhile to realize it. There are some serious swoon worthy quotes from Knight but we will get to those later…

Rain—

I liked Rain’s character. I thought in the begining being inside of her head that she may be a little crazy for not allowing herself to have fun, but that’s really just before i knew why she was not allowing herself that pleasure. Once I knew the whole story, my heart literally broke for her and what she had endured. I mean, seriously — that is one of the worst things I have read happening to a character in a good and long time – and the description – I mean WOW..it gave her serious issues and a real reason to have them. I was frustrated with her at the back and forth with Knight and how she kept denying what she wanted even though he was fighting so hard for her — but in the end I love the way it played out. I love that she realized what she wanted and I really love that they both did what they needed to do to get healthy.

The Other Characters—

While there were other back story characters and some played a role in the story that was important, the two most important characters I think were the exes who you never even really got to meet, but I think these are crucial characters because they made the lead characters who they are today – seeing Knight’s girlfriend’s pain over what happened and hearing how adored Rain was by her crush made me feel something for these characters, even though they were not directly in the storyline. I think the author did a great job with all the characters and blending them to make a real story.

My Take-Away:

Read it. I give this story 4/5 stars. It was one I requested, and then was not sure about, but I’m super glad I did pick it up and read it. It was different, and real – and although dark at some points, it was a great read. Again, even though it’s dark I think it’s a great beach read.

Romance and love obviously are the overall themes and what girl does not love that! I also loved how the story was narrated by both main characters so you got to see into both of their brains, as they were thinking and worrying over what was happening. Seeing this insight made a huge difference for me, and really helped me to understand both characters. The storyline and back story was realistic and believeable. I wouldn’t say this is a re-reader, but I would say check it out for sure! Right now it’s only $2.99 on Kindle – so check my link above and get it today – great story for a great price! Get it today while it’s still warm, and enjoy what may be your last summer read for this year — Or wait until the winter and enjoy while it’s freezing outside thinking of next summer already! Most importantly enjoy it – the characters and story and characters will lure you in so be prepared to do some reading, I read it cover to cover in 3 days so be ready for a true page turner here!

The Quotes:

“I’m a lifeguard.  A head lifeguard, and if he thinks I’m going to fall for the superhero act he probably lays out for most women he’s wrong.  I know the water like I know air.  I can’t be hurt here, and I can’t be saved here either.” ~ Rain

“I want to make her burn forever.  I want to stay here with her until the sun sets over us, painting the world in dramatic, beautiful colors.  I want everything, and I want it from a girl who has already told me her limits.” ~Knight

—–

I don’t want to give too much away, so I’ll end there, but I can tell you there are more swoon worthy quotes from Knight and from Rain for that matter – so check it out!

Happy Reading!

Kelley

 

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “ARC Review of “Deeper” By Blue Ashcroft

  1. Love this review! I’ll try to keep this one in mind for when I get some free time. 🙂 Glad you mostly enjoyed it and the romance was hot!!

Leave a Reply

