“Infinite Moment of Us” is an infinetly sweet and very real read – ARC Review

The Infinite Moment of Us“The Infinite Moment of Us” by Lauren Myracle

Publish Date: August 27, 2013

Publisher: Amulet Books

Genre: YA Comtemporary

How I got the ARC: From Around the World ARC tours in exchange for an honest review: http://aroundtheworldarctours.wordpress.com/267-2/

The Story:

For as long as she can remember, Wren Gray’s goal has been to please her parents. But as high school graduation nears, so does an uncomfortable realization: Pleasing her parents once overlapped with pleasing herself, but now… not so much. Wren needs to honor her own desires, but how can she if she doesn’t even know what they are?

Charlie Parker, on the other hand, is painfully aware of his heart’s desire. A gentle boy with a troubled past, Charlie has loved Wren since the day he first saw her. But a girl like Wren would never fall for a guy like Charlie—at least not the sort of guy Charlie believes himself to be.

And yet certain things are written in the stars. And in the summer after high school, Wren and Charlie’s souls will collide. But souls are complicated, as are the bodies that house them…

Sexy, romantic, and oh-so-true to life, this is an unforgettable look at first love from one of young adult fiction’s greatest writers

My Thoughts on the story:

When I started this book, I was not 100% invested to be honest and had no real expectations – but once I got through the first 3 chapters I couldn’t put it down. The back and forth of the teenage emotion during such a…wonderful time – but confusing time in life, was great. I really enjoyed seeing the book through both Charlie and Wren’s eyes – via the alternating chapters describing the story in each of their 3rd person narratives.  I think Lauren Myracle did an excellent job capturing that tumutoulous time in a teenager’s life when everything is changing and you are growing up almost too fast.. All through highschool, at least personally, I felt like I couldn’t wait to graduate, get out on my own — then graduation came..and I remember thinking –wow.. Where did all the time go? Am I ready for this? Throw a first love into the mix and all of those new feelings -and this made for an amazing summary romance story. The doubt about whether that boy will like you back, the butterflies in your stomach – the feeling when you know that person likes you as much as you like them – and it’s an amazing feeling – I really enjoyed reliving all of that. Of course, all love comes with some type of doubt- and I think the reality of the situation and the real feelings made the story that much better. There is no perfect tale of romance – well for most people – there has to be some kind of…. peril, something to overcome to know it’s really real, and this story had that. The story also  had some heat and romance, and i liked the way Myracle wrote this in an innocent, first love way. While they fell in love, they also gave their bodies to each other and I know this will be touchy for some readers, but I thought it was done skillfully and tastefully. There is so much sexualtiy in the media associated with teens in a negative light – Myracle took that subject and wrote it in such an innocent and real way – it was trusting and responsible and romantic – but not overly sexual.. It was a true representation to me about beign in love and sharing that experience for the first time.  I also enjoyed that the entire book was not just about the romance, it was about a major part of a life change and a decision about the future for both characters.  While the story was based on the love portion, the other parts stood out as well – the friendships, the life plans, the family dynamics – were all great and added to the realness of the story.  I don’t want to put any spoiler’s in here, so all I will say is that when I closed the book I was happy with the ending. You see Wren go from unsure high school senior – to someone much more real and full going out into the world – and you see Charlie grow with her too. You see them get their moment together – their moment in time.

The Characters:

Wren and Charlie fall in love in the book, but I see so much more happening here. There are two characters that truly go through a summer journey without ever leaving their home town. Both characters overcome insecurities and deep histories of doubting themselves to be part of this relationship. You also see Wren grow from someone very insecure really living for her parents – to someone brave and smart who chooses her path in life by going to Guatemala versus her parent’s plan for her to go to Emory. I thought it showed so much about her character that her choice for “herself” was to go somewhere and give back to others – and with so much “me” in this world to see someone have that mindset was very refreshing. Charlie also grew too though. He had to overcome deep insecurites and learn to trust Wren with his heart. Seeing both the characters grow throughout their summer – watching them fall in love so helplessly and completely was wonderful. I really believe that Myracle captured first love “right on” and the characters were full and round and wonderful!

The Take-Away:

“The Infinite Moment of Us” is an awesome summer jouney. It is a wonderful story of first love – unforgettable and romantic! This is possibly one of the best summer romances I have read. Wren and Charlie open their bodies, hearts, and minds to each other and experience their moment in time. It is a witty, sexy, and romantic tale of summer love – no better way to describe it. If you like YA romance, I highly reccomend this story. If you like sweet, innocent romance that still holds heat and realness – read it! This story held special meaning to me because it reminds me of my first love – that I am married to now. I love that butterfly feeling – the newness and excitement, and I love the gut feeling when it’s right – Lauren Myracle did this story real justice and I highly reccomend it!

Once you read it – share how you liked it! I hope everyone will check it out – now for the quotes—

Quotes I loved:

“I love you to forever.”

“She gave herself over to Charlie and the night and the world, full of mysteries.”

“You’re my home Charlie.  Thanks for finding me.”

“We’ll see each other tomorrow”, he said.  “I am still here and so are you.  You’re right where you belong.”

Kelley

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to ““Infinite Moment of Us” is an infinetly sweet and very real read – ARC Review

  1. Pingback: The Infinite Moment of Us by Lauren Myracle | Around The World ARC Tours

Leave a Reply

