“Forever You” By Sandi Black – Review

Forever You (Forever Trilogy, #2)

“Forever You” By Sandi Lynn

Published: June 4, 2013

How I received the book: Purchased from Amazon for Kindle

Summary from GoodReads:

New York Times bestselling novel, Forever You is the highly demanded sequel to USA Today’s Bestseller, Forever Black.

Connor Black’s life consisted of his company and his use of multiple women. There was never going to be love, relationships, or a fairy-tale life. Emotionally dead and damaged, that stemmed from a personal tragedy, Connor Black vowed never to feel any emotion or fall in love with a woman. That was true until Ellery Lane walked into his life by accident and changed his life forever. He begins experiencing feelings and emotions that he never felt before and finds himself being drawn into her world.

You took the journey with Connor and Ellery as their love, courage, and strength were put to the test. You watched their worlds come together through her eyes in Forever Black, and now it’s time to take the journey through his in Forever You.

What I Thought:

I read “Forever Black” and absolutely loved it, so I was more than excited to hear this was coming out and couldn’t wait to get my hands on it. When I first started reading it – I was so glad to be back in their life. I liked how this story was from his point of view and whild it covered key moments from the first story, it also took you further and into the “now” in the book anyway.. If you know the story, you know it is a story of learning to trust somone and overcome true fear that has been so deeply seeded it’s impossible to imagine getting it out of the way. In this case, you get to see what really happened to Connor and why he was the way he “was” before Ellery. I found that whole back story and the sudden change in his life when she came into it wonderful.. It was like he was in love before he even realized it.. It’s always interesting to see things from a male POV – one of the things i really enjoy about literature right now as more and more  authors are doing this.. It seems not funny, but…curious to be that women see falling in love as a grand experience and men find it horrifying or impossible..haha. Either way guys, we get you one way or the other and if it’s right – well it’s right? I really again, don’t want to give any spoilers but I really enjoyed reading more of their story and seeing Connor’s history as well.

The Characters:

I already went through the characters in my first review for “Forever Black” and I will link that review below – so I won’t go over everything, but I do want to go over some things I learned about Connor from reading this book. I really saw into his deep fear that he was bad for Ellery, that he would hurt or destroy her if he got too close and his real fear this was a possibility. I saw a strong person at the same time, who saw a therapist to try and help himself and who did the best he could in an unimaginable situation.. I cannot imagine carrying the burden he did for so long – and I think that he deserves at the very least his happily ever after. Just like in life, I believe no one is perfect – but each of us is perfect for someone else, meant to balance them out – and that describes Connor and Ellery more than any other way I could describe. You see how far Connor really grew in this book and I loved that – seeing the change Ellery brought in him, even if it terrified him at the moment. The fact he loved her enough to take the leap says it all – he is a good guy!

The Take-Away:

My take-away from this book is to get it. I think the cost is like $2.99 and it’s well worth that for the read. If you are a fan of the first book, then you better get this like..today! If you haven’t read the first book, check that out first and then come back to this. I think this is definetly something you want to read in order, because without that you will be missing key information that could ruin the story for you. The only negative I had at all was that some of the writing seemed..disjointed, kind of skipping around – and would rush from topic to topic without fluency. I love Sandi’s writing so it was something I did notice here – and maybe that’s the way Connor’s brain was supposed to come across, I just like books to really …flow… However, I still really  enjoyed the book and would absolutely reccommend it to anyone who enjoys this type of writing.

Quotes I Loved:

“If I had one last breath left, I would use it to tell you how much I love you, because I do, and I always will.”

———–

“I noticed her smile when I called her beautiful. It made my heart do something weird which I can’t explain because I’ve never felt anything like it before.”

Hope you will give it a try – it’s a great read and be on the look out for “Forever Us” this fall!

Kelley

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

