Top Ten Tuesday July 9th

Hosted by The Broke and The Bookish @ http://brokeandbookish.blogspot.com/

Hello All – it’s that time again, one of my fave Meme’s – Top Ten Tuesday. This week’s topic is your top ten best/worst movie adaptations from books – so here we go!

I’m breaking my list down into 2 categories – best and worst. I have quite a few more best (maybe I just forget about the worst) but the 2 worst ones I have totally made me..very aggrivated and I will leave it at that!

Best Book to Movie Adaptations

Twilight (Twilight, #1)New Moon (Twilight, #2)Eclipse (Twilight, #3)Breaking Dawn (Twilight, #4)

1. The “Twilight” Saga by Stephanie Meyer. I know this is probably meant for just one book per number, but I am a Twihard fan (yes I can admit that haha) and I loved all of these movies- but if I listed separately I would lose out on mentioning other stuff – so these guys get lumped into one entry. But they are Absolutely awesome adaptations!

Warm Bodies (Warm Bodies, #1)The Hunger Games (The Hunger Games #1)Must Love DogsThe NotebookSundays At TiffanysThe Lucky OneA Walk to Remember

2. “Warm Bodies” by Issac Marion – Read the book and wasn’t sure about it, but it grew on me and I really did enjoy the movie too!

3. “The Hunger Games” by Suzanne Collins – Read the series right after Twilight and fell in love with Katniss and so far the first movie lived up to my every expectation!

4. “Must Love Dogs” by Claire Cook – I read this right before the movie came out and while they left out a few parts I wish would have been included in the movie – overall I think this movie is super cute and def watch it everytime I do catch it on tv. Great adaptation!

5. “The Notebook” by Nicholas Sparks – Swoon! That’s what I need to say about Ally and Noah’s story — This movie is one of my favorite of all time, seriously. You can’t tell my husband (hope he doesn’t read this) but he likes it too – even though it’s a total “chick flick” haha.

6. “Sundays at Tiffany’s” by James Patterson – My husband got me this book and then I actually saw the movie on Lifetime (so not a major motion picture) but it captured the book so well and I loved it! If you haven’t checked this out – this is def a side of James Patterson I like – the romance was so sweet in it and the topic was so different and fresh.

7. “The Lucky One” by Nicholas Sparks – no need to explian here – another one of my favorites from Nicholas Sparks..Really enjoyed how this movie was done, it had all the good parts that needed to be included without some of the slower moments and of course it also had one of my favorite leading men in there too…

8. “A Walk To Remember” by Nicholas Sparks – I almost tear up just thinking of this Mandy Moore version of the book. I LOVE this movie even though it’s similar to “Beaches” and tears me up everytime I watch it – such a great movie and remake from the book!

Now to my Worst

My Sister's KeeperBeautiful Creatures (Caster Chronicles, #1)

9. “My Sister’s Keeper” by Jodi Picoult – Now I am going to try and not rant here, too much anyway..but COME ON! I absolutely loved this book and the message and then I see the movie coming out and of course go opening day and even drag my husband along. Imagine my utter horror in the ending of the movie when the ending is 100% changed from the book — WHAT?? How could this happen? It totally changed the meaning and feeling of the story and while the movie wasn’t bad per se… It was not the book or I woudln’t call it a full adaptation anyway. How can you change something so crucial to the story as the ending and I mean like a 180 degree change. I literally lept out of my seat at the movies and to my husband’s dismay complained about it for a week after — a huge let down!

10. “Beautiful Creatures” by Kami Garcia and Margaret Sohl – I started reading this during my new YA craze right after Twilight hit theaters and I heard it would be a movie and I was excited about it – first of all it’s set in Gatlin, a fictious town but actually in South Carolina so I have to love it for geographic location if nothing else.. But either way – when I saw the movie trailer I was super excited and then I saw the movie… What?? It was slow and at points just strange. I didn’t like the way they portrayed some of the characters and the character they picked for the male lead role — who is this kid? And what about the book made them think this was a good idea? As far as Lena goes, that character also was questionable at least.. Huge let down – and I know this could have been amazing if done correctly which almost makes it worse..

Final Thoughts

SO i’ve given you my best and my worst – and tried not to rant about the worst too much. Give me yours too – what do you think? Anything that didn’t make my list and should have? Leave a link below to your blog or just comment your thoughts in the section below if you don’t have a blog to post on — This was a great Top 10 I thought and I really enjoyed thinking this through – you forget how many times books are actually made into movies and unless you read a lot, you don’t even know that..

Happy Tuesday!

Kelley

7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

7 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday July 9th

  1. Sadly i’m commenting on my own post but I have to add “The Time Traveler’s Wife” such a great adaptation!!

  2. The Hunger Games was a good adaptation and A Walk to Remember can be said was a lot more enjoyable than the book! 🙂

  3. Great list- loved The Hunger Games- just watched it AGAIN last night-kids are getting tired of me always picking it- I hared My Sister’s Keeper- how can you change the end like that???

    • Exactly on My Sister’s Keeper.. I was so outraged, well it was ridiculious – it just didn’t do justice to the book. Picoult always has the most mind boggling stories that hit you to the core and the point of this was just lost.. it was really just sad to see they changed it like that and totally changed the feel of the whole story!

  4. I absolutely loved A Walk to Remember, I just didn’t realise it was actually a book. So sad, I teared up and I’m not really a crying kinda girl in movies, and I was quite young then too LOL

Leave a Reply

