Top Ten Tuesday – July 2nd

Hosted by The Broke and The Bookish @ http://brokeandbookish.blogspot.com/

We all have them. Those books that we really want to read and yet every time we are looking to start something we brush right past them. There is just something about them that makes it impossible to pick them up… here are my top ten intimidating books and organized by the reasons that I keep passing them by or why it took me so long to pick them up…

————–

Books I HAVE read, but had to basically force myself to pick it up for whatever reason —

The Host (The Host, #1)Requiem (Delirium, #3)Warm Bodies (Warm Bodies, #1)

1. “The Host” by Stephanie Meyer – I am a Twihard (yes I can admit that now) so when this book came out, of course I wanted to read anything by her I could get my hands on, I loved her writing – Twilight essentially brought back my love for reading and it’s why I’m here today.. BUT Aliens? Really? The topic was something I was sure I didn’t care to read about – then check out the size.. This monster could hurt someone – forget mace, I just need to carry this in my bag as a weapon. But, despite the dilemma – I did pick it up and of course LOVED it – so it was worth the wait I suppose..

2. “Requiem” by Lauren Oliver – I had just started the “Delirium” series when this came out — I know, I know.. was i living under a rock? No idea how this passed me by, but here I am reading the first two books and in love with them and the third book comes out and all of a sudden all i see online is…well…despair over the last chapter – it honestly freaked me out, I didn’t want to get that frustrated after being in love with this series, but I coudln’t not know the end — such a dilemma.. It was almost scary to read it. But in the end, my “have to know” personality won over and I did read it and was somewhat prepared I guess for the end, and for me, it was ok..maybe the hype built it up so much that I wasn’t as bothered as I thought I would be (so that’s a good thing right?)..

3. “Warm Bodies” by Isaac Marion – This book came out and it seemed like everyone was in love with it and while I do watch “The Walking Dead” – I was super sure I had no interest in reading this.. But then all the reviews were so good, everyone seemed to like it – so I actually started it, and the first chapter in I decided again, not for me. No idea why but I did come back to it, and finished it and really enjoyed the book – not a favorite, but it was enjoyable and a good “book” experience for what that counts…

Books I have NOT read that intimidate me because of all the hype:

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone (Harry Potter, #1)Unearthly (Unearthly, #1)Just One Day (Just One Day, #1)The Fault in Our StarsDead Ever After (Sookie Stackhouse, #13)Slammed (Slammed, #1)The Awakening and The Struggle (The Vampire Diaries, #1-2)

4. “Harry Potter” by J.K. Rowling – I know  you cannot believe I haven’t read this.. Right? But it had such huge hype and this came before my “back to reading” moment – so by the time I even got around to it, the hype was insane and I was worried I just wouldn’t love it that much. I figure if I hadn’t read it and every movie had come out and gone to DVD – I missed the train – not saying I won’t ever read it, but cannot commit to it at this point..

5. “Unearthly” by Cynthia Hand – this one too, so much hype and everyone just seemed to love it – yet I haven’t even read the first book. To my credit it’s on my  TBR list – so I’m sure I’ll get there but when books have this much hype I just hate to be that much more let down if I don’t like them..

6. “Just One Day” by Gayle Foreman – Ok, Ok – I am actually a little embarassed to admit I have not read this. I did read her first 2 books and LOVED them – then this came out and I had every intention of reading it, but then I saw the reviews and nothing bad – everyone loved it, so I kept it on the top of my TBR list – but as the hype continued it just became so intimidating = I still haven’t read it.. It’s still on my TBR list though, that counts for something right?

7. “The Fault in our Stars” by John Green – This book is very personal to me, because of the subject matter. I actually REALLY want to read it, but I lost my Dad to cancer – well almost 3 years ago – and I’m just not sure I’m ready to read something like this – for whatever reason even reading the summary brings up old feelings and I’m just not sure I’m ready to take this head on yet – so it remais on my TBR list until I’m ready to take it on..

8. “Dead Ever After” By Charlaine Harris – This is book #13 of this series and I must mention I have read all 12 before it. My pattern has always been to get it the very day it comes and out read it immediately! But this year – I got it that day and almost a month later, have not even started it yet.. It’s her last book in the series and I don’t know if I’m afraid to say goodbye to the characters – or the fact the TV show has gone so far into never, never land that I’m super dissapointed – but for whatever reason I just can’t seem to pick it up – again it is living on my TBR and I actually did buy it..so I’ll get there but it is a little intimidating..

9. “Slammed” by Colleen Hoover – I have read sooo many good things about her writing and have wanted to read these books, so I got approved for the 3rd book via Netgalley and thought – this is my chance and immediately bought the first two – but what if I don’t like them – she seems to be one of the next “big” authors and everyone just loves these books – but what if I don’t? So – another book that just sits on my TBR list…

10. “Vampire Diaries” by L.J. Smith – another series beloved during my Twilight time. I did watch the first season of the show and it made me want to read the books – and I saw the fan base growing – I’m sure some people feel about this like I do about “Twilight” but I just couldn’t bring myself to read the books – and after I watched the show I thought it wouldn’t be fair to the books to read them then ( i know this sounds silly) so this may be something I just never read –who knows?

—–

Alright guys, that’s my list – Chime in and tell me what you think? Am I just being wimpy? What should I really pull from my TBR list and read right away? And what are your intimidating books?? List your link below or just reply in the commet sections – Personally I enjoyed this, I have never really thought of books this way but it was interesting to see what I came up with..

Happy Tuesday!

Kelley

8 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

8 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday – July 2nd

  1. Ya gotta read Harry Potter :p I’ve been wanting to read Warm Bodies because I loved the movie! Such a cute story.

    • I know.. it’s super sad, I know i’ll get to it one day.. I bet it’s an amazing series! I really enjoyed Warm Bodies too – def worth the read, i thought the book was better than the movie actually. Hope you enjoy it!

  2. I picked up Unearthly from the bookstore and I had heard nothing of it. I didn’t know the hype around it. At first I thought the book was okay bur halfway through I started to love it and now I’ve read the whole series and I’m glad. I’ve heard bad things about Vampire Diaries the books. I haven’t read Just One Day either. Don’t worry. 🙂

    • Glad to get your feed back on the Unearthly series – I have this on my TBR right now so I hope I can get to it this summer.. The Vampire Diaries , agreed, at first i heard awesome things, but once the show came out I didn’t hear much, so I’ve pretty much tabled that for now. I really want to read Just One Day, my goal is to read that before Just One Year comes out!

  3. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday – July 2nd | Book Girl From South Carolina

  4. I haven’t read HP either! or TFioS! or Slammed! Ahhh. I know I loves ya for a reason! We’re chickens over the same stuff, hehehe
    ❤ B

    • haha it seems we are! Maybe we should team up and force ourselves to eat least one of them – a buddy system against our intimidating books! Slammed is almost next on my list – how do you feel about that as a start??

  5. Pingback: Getting Lost…in a Book: A Complete Short Story | Emilia Jordan

Leave a Reply

