“The Distance Between Us” by Kasie West ARC Review – My First Great Summer Read!

The Distance Between Us

Title and Author: “The Distance Between Us” by Kasie West

Publisher: Harper Teen

Release Date: 7/2/2013

How I Got The Book: I got this as part of the book tour from Around The World ARC Blog

Link to Purchase on Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/The-Distance-Between-Us-ebook/dp/B00B0VZRWO/ref=sr_1_2?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1372554433&sr=1-2&keywords=the+distance+between+us

General Summary Via GoodReads:

Seventeen-year-old Caymen Meyers studies the rich like her own personal science experiment, and after years of observation she’s pretty sure they’re only good for one thing—spending money on useless stuff, like the porcelain dolls in her mother’s shop.

So when Xander Spence walks into the store to pick up a doll for his grandmother, it only takes one glance for Caymen to figure out he’s oozing rich. Despite his charming ways and that he’s one of the first people who actually gets her, she’s smart enough to know his interest won’t last. Because if there’s one thing she’s learned from her mother’s warnings, it’s that the rich have a short attention span. But Xander keeps coming around, despite her best efforts to scare him off. And much to her dismay, she’s beginning to enjoy his company.

She knows her mom can’t find out—she wouldn’t approve. She’d much rather Caymen hang out with the local rocker who hasn’t been raised by money. But just when Xander’s attention and loyalty are about to convince Caymen that being rich isn’t a character flaw, she finds out that money is a much bigger part of their relationship than she’d ever realized. And that Xander’s not the only one she should’ve been worried about…

My First Thoughts:

I haven’t read anything yet written by Kasie West, so I wasn’t sure what to think. I have to admit though, the cover really lured me in. For me, some covers are just so-so, bu tthen some come along and forwhatever reason appeal to me and make me want to check the book out – and this is one of those books. Then I started reading and from the first page Caymen had me laughing. I really loved her dry sense of humor. Then there was Skye – who I also enjoyed. Of course, it does go without saying that Xander was hot from the first minute –and sweet, and dreamy! So, my first thought of this book is that it was a typical YA love story, good characters, some humor, and would be a great summer read! I also thought from chapter one, well more so knew I would end up enjoying the story. I liked West’s writing and I really enjoyed the character POV changes, even slight, to see somethings from other perspectives. It certainly had me hooked, I think I read the whole book in 3 days – with my work load lately – that is fast!

The Characters:

We can start with Caymen. As I said before, I loved her dry sense of humor.  It made some more…slow parts of the book humorous, and you never really knew what she would say or what she was thinking – so that made her interesting. I also enjoyed that she was a strong character, a do-er.. She saw a problem, like with her Mom, and started thinking of how to help, she wasn’t helpless and didn’t whine like a normal teenager – which made her a great character and a strong female character. I enjoyed her relationship with her Mom and with Skye. She may have not had a ton of friends, but you could tell she was loyal to those she loved. I have seen some other reviews that posed the question why Mason was even brought into the story, but I think he served a vital role.. it was to allow Caymen to have a choice – to choose to go for her Prince Charming or to choose someone “safe” that she did like and she saw on her own level.  I think it was she that told Xander that every now and then you have to take a chance and be willing to fail, and this was her chance, stepping out of her comfort zone. When you think of her character – you understand why this would be her challenge. Then enter Zander – the boy with the perfect life (per se), dreamy looks, and sweet heart. I really wanted her to give him a chance from the first minute.  I was frustrated when she wouldn’t open up to him and just give him a chance.. But he saw that and didn’t run away – he wanted to know her so much he took the baby steps and waited it out while they got to know each other. One of my favorite scenes is the scene where they dig the grave.. This is totally weird scenerio – I know – but Xander jumped right in and dug into it, even getting blisters and not complaining trying to show her he was different, he wasn’t a pretty boy without a back bone. I just really enjoyed the way they were when they were together.  It’s like they fit and completed each other. Toward the end, you see new characters enter into Caymen’s life and it does stir things up, but it brings good change..you’ll see. I don’t want to add any spoilers about the new characters, but I will say I really enjoyed the ending this book and I really loved the characters, they were full and believeable. I am kind of hoping Kasie West will add another addition into this series, i would love to see Sky’e story and of course see more of Xander and Caymen!

Overall Thoughts:

Overall, I really enjoyed the book. This is my first “official” summer read and this is a perfect summer read. If you’re headed to the beach, or just by the pool — or even looking for a great read – check it out! It’s the kind of book that can follow something really serious or something very deep. This book has enough meat to make it interesting, enough steam to make you swoony, and enough humor to make you laugh – it’s the perfect combination for a summer read! I highly reccommend it! So I give the book 4/5 Sunshines!

This book is a great, fun read for your summer “to-read” list – so check it out today. It comes out on July 2nd via Amazon.  I’ll post the link to purchase it above next to the book cover. I really like to always include a quote (I’m a quote girl!) so check that out below! I coudln’t find a great quote that doesn’t give anything away, so i decided to give a tid-bit. Hope you enjoy! Love to hear your thoughts if  you’ve read it or if you want to – just post in the comment section below!

Tid Bit From The Story:

he stops suddenly, becoming very still.  I’m confused.  I was sure he was coming to some sort of powerful conclusion that I really want him to make.  Something that’ll make me say, “It’s okay. Love conquers all.” But instead he offers me his lower-lip biting smile and I almost rush into his arms.  For the first time since I walked away from him the other night my heart feels whole.

There are some amazing quotes in the book and I deliberated over them, but I don’t want to spoil the great story for anyone! I don’t want to spoil the sweetness, and innocense as Caymen and Xander form their story.  This quote I think shows the story is real.. In real life, people (for the most part – there may still be those prince charming’s out there) don’t make large grandiose speeches that change lives, or change feelings.. In real life, we just forgive each other, when you love someone, you just can’t stay angry.. and being with them is more important than anything else!

SO – check it out – “The Distance Between Us” by Kasie West is a great story, fun and romantic, humorous and real. It’s a great summer read, or anytime read.. Get it and check it out – that’s what I reccommend! You won’t regret it!

Kell

 

 

 

 

 

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to ““The Distance Between Us” by Kasie West ARC Review – My First Great Summer Read!

  1. Yey, glad you loved it! It’s one of the few book I’ve preordered recently. I’m a big fan of realistic YA but there just aren’t that many non dystopian/fantasy/paranormal/sci-fi books out there up for release it seems!

    • I agree, the just cute romance books arn’t popping up a lot – have you read “Flat Out Love” By Jessica park? It’s amazing, highly reccommend – also by same author “Left Drowning” which is out in July. Hope you enjoy!

  2. Pingback: The Distance Between Us by Kasie West | Around The World ARC Tours

Leave a Reply

