Review of “Playing For Keeps” by Emma Hart


Book: “Playing For Keeps” by Emma Hart

Published: June 22, 2013

Link for Purchase on Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Playing-Keeps-The-Game-ebook/dp/B00DKCZBYA/ref=sr_1_3?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1372246688&sr=1-3&keywords=playing+for+keeps

Summary Provided by GoodReads:
She’s in love with him.
He’s trying not to love her.
One night changes everything.

Aston Banks never meant to get close to Megan Harper – not even for that one night. Haunted by a childhood he refuses to face, he knew she could break through every wall he’d ever built and tear them down without even realizing she was doing it.

Betraying Braden by starting a relationship with Aston wasn’t on Megan’s to-do list, but the second she sees a glimpse of someone other than the arrogant ass she’s come to know, she can’t walk away.

Aston’s childhood is worse than Megan ever guessed, but as he tries and fails to push her away, it’s clear her love is stronger than the demons that cling to him every day. And now, because of it, he finally has to deal with what he’s buried deep down.

What he doesn’t want to face. What he’s fought against for so long.

And they have to do it all without Braden finding out.

Keeping a relationship secret has never been harder.

What I thought:

I was super lucky to get an ARC of this book from the author herself! When I heard about this, of course I wanted to read, but I hadn’t read the first book yet, so I actually got an ARC of both and fell in love right away with Emma Hart’s beautiful writing and the way she tells a story! I really enjoyed “The Love Game” and watching that story unfold and could not wait for the second book – I think I only left 1 day inbetween to digest the first.. I was super excited to hear Megan and Aston’s story – you can not help but to fall in love with these characters. I thought this book, “Playing for Keeps” was so well written! The characters were fully developed and you could not help but to love them! The book was so good, I read most of it in one sitting and was up until..well way into the night to finish it. I highly reccommend!

The Characters:

What can I say – well what more, how long can I go on before you stop reading this? I have so many incredible things to say about these characters!! I’ll try to stay on point and give you the highlights — Aston in this book was my favorite character – he was so broken in the begining and I loved him for that. Over the storyline watching him learn to trust Megan and their relationship flourish was amazing — seeing her help him get his self-esteem and self-worth back was swoon worthy.. I don’t even need to get into the hot romantic scenes – steamy!! So Aston is fighting his childhood demons, and Megan comes in and saves him from himself – The way they worked together in the book felt complete and I just loved it!

Overall:

Overall I give this book 5 sunshines out of 5! It’s a definite series to keep your eyes on and get the next book – I hope I get a chance to review it too.. Now is the only down side – the wait. But if you haven’t read this yet, get it today! The witty banter between the two main characters and the steam literally coming off the pages make this a must read — Check it out today, I posted the link directly to Amazon above, so you can click and buy and best part right now it’s only $2.99 — amazing deal! The only thing I suggest is making sure you read the first book in the series first, I think it helps to build into this storyline! I also loved how Megan Hart built wisdom into the book, I was constantly finding something through the pages I thought was totally amazing – and it wasn’t cheesy or out of place which was the best part..You know me, i just love that type of stuff – a great book with life lessons built in – what could be better right?? Get it today and let me know how you like it!!

Quotes: Instead of multiple quotes – I decided to give you the teaser segment Megan used on her book website – so check it out and get the book today!!

“Not everyone is what they seem, Megan. You should know that by now.”

She looks up at me, her startling blue eyes full of questions I know I have to answer.
“I know that. I just wish those people could trust in the people that care a little.” She sweeps past me to our desk. I bite the inside of my lip, following after her.
“Maybe it’s not that they don’t trust,”I say. “Maybe it’s that they’ve forgotten how to.”
She straightens her books on the desk, slowly turning her face to me as I sit next to her. “Then maybe they should open their eyes and see that the person they need to trust is right in front of them. Maybe they should open up and share so they don’t have to bear the burden alone.”
“Not everything is made to be shared. Not every scar is on the physical body. Some scars are on the mind. Some scars can’t be seen. They’re inside, burned in so deeply that they’ll never be healed.”
Her eyes are earnest and soft. “Just because a scar can’t be healed doesn’t mean it can’t be soothed,” she whispers.
I take a deep breath, making a decision I know I’ll regret. Making a decision that will change everything.
A decision that will change me.
“Sometimes the dark truth is too much for some people,” I warn her.
A decision that will change her.
“Sometimes a light dusting of the truth isn’t enough,” she responds.
A decision that will change us.
“Is the dark really better than the light?”
She nods. “Sometimes. Sometimes you need to get lost in the dark to truly appreciate the light.”
“This weekend,” I drop my voice so it’s barely audible. “I can’t promise everything. I can only promise what is there to give.”
She blinks once, her hand twitching. She clenches her fist and puts it in her lap. “I’ve only ever had half of you. I’m sure I can wait a little longer for all of you.”

That’s all folks – tune in next time and keep reading!

Kelley

 

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Review of “Playing For Keeps” by Emma Hart

  1. Sounds like you’re loving this series!

Leave a Reply

