Monday Musing June 24th

My most annoying reading habit since becoming a blogger is my TBR list and how insane I have grown it.. Since I can see books on Netgalley and Edelweiss and know what’s coming down the pike, I request them and then magically there they are on my kindle.. At first it was super magical and awesome, and trust me it still is! But now i’m dealing with a TBR list that is unmanageable – and overwhelming to be honest. I have over 50 books on my TBR list right now, not including the ones I have bought myself to add to the list. I love blogging and I LOVE reading and I just don’t want it to ever become a chore, and having too many books is NOT a problem – but I think I need to learn to better manage it.. Any tips would be amazing! Right now I’m on a hold up – not adding anything else until i get a plan to review what I have already — and again – 100% not complaining about the over abundance of books, I’m lucky for that matter! My annoyance is more with myself and for choosing so many and not considering the time to read and review each one, and I truly want to be fair to the authors. So, my solution is this for now, and again PLEASE post any suggestions if you have them(!): I will not purchase or request any further books at the moment, and I’m going to start scheduling reviews for my blog to give myself dates, and ETAs to get this done – Needing to schedule reviews is new and exciting and means I must be doing something right ot get these books to review, right? I think so – so that’s the plan and I’m sticking to it — Sorry for the ramble.. Hope everyone has an awesome Monday! Since I didn’t inlcude anything from a book here – thought I’d include a quote from the book I just finished: “Tangled” By Emma Chase – if you don’t have it – get it NOW! It’s hilarious and wonderful writing and an awesome POV. See ya!

via Monday Musing June 24th.

11 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

11 responses to “Monday Musing June 24th

  1. Pingback: “Why Is It So Hard To Get A Book Review?” by Nikki Bennett | Authors Helping Authors Resource Site

  2. The same thing is happening to me-I have so many just waiting to be read. Good luck!!

  3. There are so many good books on Net Galley, and I keep requesting them, and now I have something like 30 books to review. Exciting, but I’m kind of stressing now, haha 😛

  4. I know the feeling – I keep a calendar of the books I have by release date. I know I can read about 800 pages a week if I need to, so I try not to request more than 2 books with the same release date. Sometimes I get a little carried away though. And I try to keep some weeks empty for catching up.

    Then I read in order of release date rather than the order I received them in, unless a deadline has been specified.

    It’s been working well so far but I’ve gotten to a point where I’m not requesting any unless it’s something I really want to read since I have other books on my shelf waiting for some love!

    Good luck with your TBR, you’ll soon find your rhythm 🙂

Leave a Reply

