McGarry’s “Dare You To” Amazes Me! The Full Review!

Product Detailsby Katie McGarry

Published: June 1, 2013

Published by: Harlequin Teen

Category: Teen Romance / Social Situations

Summary From GoodReads:

Ryan lowers his lips to my ear. “Dance with me, Beth.”

“No.” I whisper the reply. I hate him and I hate myself for wanting him to touch me again….

“I dare you…”

If anyone knew the truth about Beth Risk’s home life, they’d send her mother to jail and seventeen-year-old Beth who knows where. So she protects her mom at all costs. Until the day her uncle swoops in and forces Beth to choose between her mom’s freedom and her own happiness. That’s how Beth finds herself living with an aunt who doesn’t want her and going to a school that doesn’t understand her. At all. Except for the one guy who shouldn’t get her, but does….
Ryan Stone is the town golden boy, a popular baseball star jock-with secrets he can’t tell anyone. Not even the friends he shares everything with, including the constant dares to do crazy things. The craziest? Asking out the Skater girl who couldn’t be less interested in him.
But what begins as a dare becomes an intense attraction neither Ryan nor Beth expected. Suddenly, the boy with the flawless image risks his dreams-and his life-for the girl he loves, and the girl who won’t let anyone get too close is daring herself to want it all….

What I thought:

After reading “Pushing The Limits” I had high hopes and high standards to be honest, but McGarry did not let me down at all! This story was brilliant! The romance just hot enough, but not too mushy or unbelieveable. At first I was hesitant because to be honest I didn’t care for Beth’s character in PTL, but i quickly saw her as someone different in this story. Ryan, now Ryan I loved from the first minute – his character was alive off of the page almost instantly for me. Their love story was so sweet and..innocent for their age. I loved Ryan’s manners and respect for women, something Beth needed dearly. Their passion for each other was…astounding! The story had a tough backline with the situation with Beth’s Mom and you get to see how wonderful a person Beth is by watching her deal with this and by learning how she got to this point. I share a similar story in my past, so I really related to her character in more ways than one – and her strength amazed me. For most of the book, I wasn’t sure how this would end, just like Ryan’s story – and I don’t want to spoil it but no one who reads this will be dissappointed. It is not just another gooey romance story, it has heart and soul and meat! It’s a story that is real, that talks about real life love which is messy and complicated, but if right will lead you to the end of the earth to find and keep it.

The Characters:

Beth and Ryan are the main two characters here of course. Beth is strong on the outside, tough as nails.. or so she wants you to think. On the inside she feels abandoned and lonely and untrusting. She hasn’t had an yone to depend on in so long it makes me sad. The picture painted of her as a little girl with blonde hair full of ribbons and then an older girl with black hair and piercings and tough look – tells how much she has changed. How much she had to change to survive. Then she meets Ryan and everything changes. Ryan is athletic but I woudln’t call him a jock because he is smart and not snobby. I love that their click which includes Lacy, Chris, and Logan are just people too – they aren’t the “perfect” high school kids, they are themselves, and I love they don’t feel like they have to conform. Beth and Ryan learn from each other in this story. Beth learns how to trust and let go and let herself have a life there and trust that Ryan will be right to her. Ryan on the other hand, learns to ask for what he wants and not back down to his parents and their dreams and in the end both of their lives are better for this. One of my favorite moments in the book is the rain drop moment – again I won’t spoil it, but girls.. be ready to swoon. I fell in love with Ryan myself that very moment.

On other characters – you see Lacy, Chris, and Landon some – but I do wish  we could see more of them. They are a great support for both Ryan and Beth, and I know the focus was on them, but I still would have liked to see mroe of them. As far as the characters from the other story, Isiah was a tough character here because Beth had to finally admit she didn’t love him the way he loved her – I think her telling him he would be happy one day when she realized that the love they could have was not what they did and they shouldn’t settle was a great moment. And as for Noah and Echo, of course I could have seen more of them. I personally connected more in the end with Ryan and Beth – but I still love that couple and their sweetness. I’m super excited to see Isiah getting his own story next and I hope he can find some type of happiness and peace. All 3 characters from the first story – Noah, Isiah, and Beth deserve it, they all have more than a hard life.

So the characters in this story were amazing, I could relate and they  felt real to me, like someone I might know or could call and chat with on the phone. I like the way McGarry writes her characters like that – they remind me of being young but still not too young and immature. The story was written really well all around!

Overall Rating and Reccommends:

The story gets a 5/5 Sunshines!

Overall I was happy with the story, and really enjoyed the plot and the characters. I would reccommend it to anyone who enjoys true romance, true love. I really love that this book felt like the type of love you find in Romeo and Juliet without the one person dying part – which makes it awesome. I rooted for both Ryan and Lacy and the last scene in the book on the football field, the final dare left me smiling and wanting more. This is 100% a book you buy and keep for a re-read. I can see this being a great vacation beach re-read when you just need to zone out and enjoy a great story! I’m already looking forward to hearing more about these characters in Part 3 of the storyline.

Great job Katie McGarry! The book was amazing!

Quotes that MADE the story:

Number 1 –

“You’re a lot like that bird in the barn.  You’re so scared that you’re going to be caged in forever you can’t see the way out.  You smack yourself against the wall again and again and again.  The door is open, Beth.  Stop running in circles and walk out.”

Number 2-

That must be love: when everything else in the world could implode and you wouldn’t care as long as you had that one person standing beside you.”

Number 3-

“How many more of us are faking the facade? How many more of us are pretending to be something we’re not? Even better, how many of us will have the courage to be ourselves regardless of what others think?”

Number 4-

“This overwhelming, encompassing feeling is love. It’s not perfect and it’s messy as hell. And it’s exactly what I need.”

Hope everyone enjoyed the review – tell me what you think! Did you love it? Will you read it now? Love to hear back any comments!

Happy reading!

Kelley

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “McGarry’s “Dare You To” Amazes Me! The Full Review!

  1. Oooh, like the quotes! This book was awesome, I can’t wait for book 3!

Leave a Reply

