Thursday Book Talk – All The Buzz on Books June 13th

Happy Thursday Everyone and welcome to my first official “me only” meme Thursday Book Talk! This meme is dedicated to talking about anything you want, book news, where you’re at in a book, what you want to read next, any rants you have – really anything you want to put out there!

I talked about this book last week too (I’m sad I haven’t found more time to read this week – goodness – I didn’t realize I was so behind!) but I just finished “Dare You To” last night by Katie McGarry and am super excited to share some of my thoughts and as well a few quotes (you all know i LOVE quotes!) before my full review goes up this weekend!

Dare You To (Pushing the Li... by Katie McGarry

Here’s a short summary from GoodReads:

Ryan lowers his lips to my ear. “Dance with me, Beth.”

“No.” I whisper the reply. I hate him and I hate myself for wanting him to touch me again….

“I dare you…”

If anyone knew the truth about Beth Risk’s home life, they’d send her mother to jail and seventeen-year-old Beth who knows where. So she protects her mom at all costs. Until the day her uncle swoops in and forces Beth to choose between her mom’s freedom and her own happiness. That’s how Beth finds herself living with an aunt who doesn’t want her and going to a school that doesn’t understand her. At all. Except for the one guy who shouldn’t get her, but does….

Ryan Stone is the town golden boy, a popular baseball star jock-with secrets he can’t tell anyone. Not even the friends he shares everything with, including the constant dares to do crazy things. The craziest? Asking out the Skater girl who couldn’t be less interested in him.

But what begins as a dare becomes an intense attraction neither Ryan nor Beth expected. Suddenly, the boy with the flawless image risks his dreams-and his life-for the girl he loves, and the girl who won’t let anyone get too close is daring herself to want it all….

Did I Love it?

I don’t want to spoil my full review or spoil it for anyone who has not read it yet, but the answer is YES! I loved it! Just like “Pushing The Limits” the characters stole my heart – and in the back of the book we all got a super awesome tidbit – McGarry is working on Isiah’s story – YooHoo! I can’t wait..

The one thing I can say that I missed in this book was more of Noah and Echo – I was hoping I would get more of their characters, but because of the circumstances I can understand why we did not..

So to not spoil my full review – that’s all I will say today – #1 I LOVED it! and #2 – get it today if you haven’t yet and don’t forget to check out “Pushing The Limits” too. She also has a novella called “Crossing the Line” that I want to check out!

Without further ado – quotes from the story:

Quote #1 – Now I listed this one before but I love it so much I had to put it here again!

“That must be love: when everything else in the world could implode and you wouldn’t care as long as you had that one person standing beside you.” 

Quote #2

“How many more of us are faking the facade? How many more of us are pretending to be something we’re not? Even better, how many of us will have the courage to be ourselves regardless of what others think?”

Quote #3

“This overwhelming, encompassing feeling is love. It’s not perfect and it’s messy as hell. And it’s exactly what I need.”

Quote #4

“Ryan has this blank, way too innocent expression.  “Don’t worry, Mr. Risk.  I’d love to help Elisabeth.”

He turns to me and smiles. This smile isn’t genuine or heartwarming, but cocky as hell.

Bring it, jock boy.  Your best won’t be good enough.”

 

So what are you reading? What are you ranting about today? What do you want to read? And have you read this book? I want to hear back from you – Let’s talk!!

Kelley

 

 

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Thursday Book Talk – All The Buzz on Books June 13th

  1. I am trying to get into Sight REading- but I haven’t really done much reading in almost a week ( I am shamed)

    • Totally understand that – It’s officially taken me over a week to read one book – not even that long.. Shameful! haha.. I’m taking a little trip and hoping to catch up on my reading while we fly – now if I can just get my reviews up to date!

  2. Pingback: McGarry’s “Dare You To” Amazes Me! The Full Review! | Book Girl From South Carolina

Leave a Reply

