Top Ten Tuesday June 10th – Top Ten Beach Reads!

Hosted by The Broke and the Bookish @ http://brokeandbookish.blogspot.com/p/top-ten-tuesday-other-features.html

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created here at The Broke and the Bookish. This feature was created because we are particularly fond of lists here at The Broke and the Bookish. We’d love to share our lists with other bookish folks and would LOVE to see your top ten lists!

 Each week we will post a new Top Ten list  that one of our bloggers here at The Broke and the Bookish will answer. Everyone is welcome to join. All we ask is that you link back to The Broke and the Bookish on your own Top Ten Tuesday post AND add your name to the Linky widget so that everyone can check out other bloggers lists! If you don’t have a blog, just post your answers as a comment. Have fun with it! It’s a fun way to get to know your fellow bloggers!
This Week’s Topic: Top 10 Beach Reads:
1. The Summer I Became A Nerd by Leah Rae Miller
The Summer I Became a NerdLight and fun read, but loved the characters – perfect stand alone book for any day by the beach!
2. The Marriage Bargain by Jennifer Probst
The Marriage Bargain (Marri... This book is hot and steamy, which makes a great beach read-plus it will make you laugh untily our stomach hurts, and the great writing doesn’t  hurt at all – def one to check out!
3. Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins
Anna and the French KissWhat is not more summer than a boy and girl falling in love in Paris? Top that off with the characters Anna and the Oh So Charming St. Clair and it’s a winner – you won’t want to put it down, so grab your beach chair, put on your SPF and get ready to read!
4. Lola and the Boy Next Door by Stephanie Perkins
Lola and the Boy Next Door ...I couldn’t include the first without the second – if you are a fan of Stephanie Perkins, you know one cannot go without the other. This portrays the story of a dreamy boy next door – who ends up giving the girl of his dreams the stars – “swoon”!! Again, get comfortable, it’s a one sit reader so SPF up, grab that chair, and enjoy!
5. Summer Days by Susan Mallery
Summer Days (Fool's Gold, #7)I spent a great deal of my summer in this sleep town called Fool’s Gold last year and getting to know these characters and I cannot reccommend them enough. While any book can be stand alone, with wonderful writing and romance, the bigger picture is the best – you become invested in their little community – warning here: it can be addictive – you can become the nosy neighbor via print. So tread with caution, but enjoy!
6. Beautiful Bastard by Christina Lauren
Beautiful Bastard (Beautifu... This book is a hot, one day read when you need it, nothing but fun and utter hotness! Every girl needs at least one of these each year – so relax and enjoy!!
7. The Lucky One by Nicholas Sparks
The Lucky OneTrue to my form, I had to add one of my favorite summer reads – any Nicholas Sparks. For some reason this has been on my mind, so i went with it – the vibe is sort of summer and unlike some of the books it doesn’t end in total tragedy – so if you haven’t experienced his writing yet, check it out today!
8. Awaken by Katie Kacvinsky
Awaken (Awaken, #1)i’ve included a lot of fluff so here’s something with some thought. I read this book about 2 years ago before Dystropian really hit the market and LOVED it, so if you want ot know what’s hot in Teen lit these days, take a walk on the wild side and i promise you’ll love it – the characters and the writing are great and the story isn’t too keep. Best part of all, if you get really invested there are more books to come!
9. Divergent by Veronica Roth
Divergent (Divergent, #1)Same with this story – it’s a great meaning, but not too deep and has some great meat to the story, plus some hot love stuff – I think the femaales are tough and I like that and Four is just..hot. The movie is coming out next year, so be prepared, check it out – see what all the hype is about! You won’t be sorry!
10. City Of Bones by Cassandra Claire
City of Bones (The Mortal I...Besides being an AMAZING book, it’s the great start to an even better series. And it’s coming to theaters in August, so see what the hype is about so you can properly swoon for the lead guy when he hits the scene – Clary and Jace – endless love – Edward and Bella on another level plus some really cool action where Clary actaul gets to fight other than in the lat book – it got an A plus from me – so check it out and let me know what you think.
So why did I chose these books? In one way or another, they all let you escape reality in some way. My favorite beach books are the type that let you immerse yourself in these beautiful worlds and just relax and forget all the tough stuff you’re going through for just a little bit – lay in the sun and read and forget the world outside of that.
Do you have any suggestions? If so – let me know – any thoughts on mine, speak your mind! I want to hear from you!!
If you have a blog, please participate, if you don’t just write your answers below- anyone can be part of the fun!
So until next Tuesday – get reading and talking! See you back next Tuesday same time!
Kelley aka Book Girl From South Carolina
33 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

33 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday June 10th – Top Ten Beach Reads!

  1. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday June 10th – Top Ten Beach Reads! | Book Girl From South Carolina

  2. I definitely agree that THE LUCKY ONE is a perfect beach read. Frankly, I think most Nicholas Sparks novels are, so good choice. Great picks all around, actually! 🙂

    • Thanks Me too – sometimes they are excrutiatingly sad, but I always find the love wins out in one way or another – nothing like a timeless love story and he tells them so well! The Notebook and the Guardian are my top favorites! Thanks for coming by!

    • Great blog – i just checked it out and you officially have a few follower – loved your reccommendations for this Top Ten Tuesday – I will be checking out My Life Next Door for sure!

  3. Ahhhh! I want to read Beautiful Bastard. I see it at Target all the time and want to grab it, but I just have so many other books to read right now! and ❤ TMI!

    <3!
    Beth | The Reading Vixens
    Vixen’s Top Ten!

    Check out all our giveaways HERE!

  4. I need to read Divergent! I also want to read The Summer I Became A Nerd. Great list 😀

    • Thanks so much! I got The Summer I Became a Nerd from Netgalley and it was as super great read – so cute and light! Divergent is great too and the second book Insurgent is also out – not to mention that it’s coming to the big screen soon!

  5. TMI and Divergent are great series, I loved the books so much. Great selection of books!

    My TTT

  6. Great list- hope you get to all of them this summer!
    Here is my list-http://turnthepagereviews.com

  7. Great list. I really want to read The Summer I Became A Nerd (mostly because I am a nerd) . And I may read City of Bones this summer. It’s one of those series that everyone is like -you haven’t started that yet!?!

    My TTT

    Happy reading!

    • The Summer I Became a Nerd was super cute and light and funny – I would totally reccommend it! As for the City of Bones – or the Mortal Instrument Series – amazing! You’ll be hooked if you read the first one, the characters are great, I would really reccommend it, and in perfect time with the moving coming out in August! Thanks for checking my list out!

  8. JoAnne

    Great choices. I loved Summer Days by Susan Mallery but this summer she has a new Fool’s Gold trilogy out – Just One Kiss, Two of a Kind and Three Little Words. Love, love, love Fool’s Gold.
    Read Lucky One by Nicholas Sparks – great read too.
    Will have to add some of the others to my TBR pile.
    Thanks for sharing!

  9. Shari

    I love Susan Mallery’s Fools Gold series. Love catching up on old friends and meeting new friends. You can start any where in the series and not be lost. But you will fall in love with Fools Gold and want to read the whole series.

  10. shannon ferguson

    If you enjoyed summer days, definitely check out just one kiss, two little words, and three of a kind by susan mallery! Perfect summer reads and part of the fools gold series

  11. good selections. You can’t go wrong with any of Susan Mallery’s books.
    Julie

  12. I’ve read The Marriage Bargain, Summer Days, and Divergent. Good pics

  13. Charlotte

    I love Susan Mallery’s Fools Gold series.

  14. Dee Myers

    Susan Mallery’s “Fool’s Gold” Series are the best summer read! Don’t miss this summers “Just One KIss”, “Two of a Kind”, and “Three Little Words”, I love summers in “Fool’s Gold”!!

  15. I loved Summer Days along with the other Fool’s Gold books!! I loved The Lucky One. Both great beach reads!!

  16. I love the Fool’s Gold series. This summer’s books have been the best! I’ve read a lot of great books this summer!

Leave a Reply

