Thursday Book Talk

Happy Thursday!

Left Drowning

Today I’m reading “Left Drowning” by one of my favorite authors Jessica Park.

Now – I got this book yesterday via Netgalley and I requested it just b/c of the story line, I never even paid attention to who was writing it honestly, and last night when I started to read it, I was thinking this book and writing reminds me of something else….  Now that all makes sense since “Flat Out Love” (review link for this and “Flat out Matt” is listed below) is one of my favorite books ever. I totally forgot this book was coming out by her – what an awesome surprise that I got it early via Netgalley, and I get to review!! I love Jessica Park!

Ok so enough gushing – you get it – I LOVE Jessica Park and her book “Flat Out Love” – so on to this story. I was sucked in within the first few pages and I’m totally in love with it now about 1/3 of the way done. The characters are amazing and the plot is fresh and intriguing.

I wanted to list one quoe from the book (quotes are like my thing – and I like to collect them from all of my favorite books) so here we go:

“He puts his hand on my cheek. “You were left drowning.” I nod again.  “And you’re struggling to breathe.” I am.  It’s a constant struggle to stay near the surface.  I have just enough air to stop me from totally going under, but not enough to thrive.  “So do it.  Breathe.  Just Breathe.” He turns up the volume and strokes my hair.

One More:

“You have the here and the now, ” Chris says.  “You have a future.  Deal with the past so you can stop looking back.  It’s just pain.”

Last one:

“You need songs that make you feel.  Some make you strong, some make you weak.  Some build determination, some tear you apart.  But you need all of those.”

 

I love this book – and I’m super excited it was as good as I hoped when I first heard about it after reading “Flat Out Love” – and what an amazing find considering I had no idea this was “the book” – It was meant for me to read this.

 

Ok – hope everyone has a Happy Thursday, just one more day until a long weekend!!

Kelley

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Thursday Book Talk

  1. This sounds so good, I love the quotes you included! 🙂 Great review!

    Alice @ Alice in Readerland

    • Thanks so much! I just “totally” finished it tonight, so I’ll get the full review up tomorrow – hope you can check it out! I am quote obsessive, should have some more tomorrow for the full review too!

      Happy Friday!!

  2. Pingback: Happy Friday! | Book Girl From South Carolina

  3. Pingback: ARC Review of “Left Drowning” by Jessica Park | Book Girl From South Carolina

  4. Pingback: Thursday Book Talk June 6th | Book Girl From South Carolina

  5. Pingback: {Left Drowning} by Jessica Park {52¢} & GIVEAWAY!!! | Fifty5Cents book blog

Leave a Reply

