Review of “Screwed” by Laurie Pilssner

In the Grace of Your Love

In the Grace of Your Love (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Fetus at 38 weeks after fertilization 3D Pregn...

Fetus at 38 weeks after fertilization 3D Pregnancy (Image from gestational age of 40 weeks). Retrieved 2007-08-28. A rotatable 3D version of this photo is available here, and a sketch is available here. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Published by: F+ W/Adams Media and Merit Press

Published Date: May 18, 2013

Source: Netgallery E Book (ARC)

The Story

Per Goodreads Summary

Flattered by the attentions of Nick, the cutest guy in school, seventeen-year-old Grace Warren, captain of the math team, lets down her guard and gets pregnant the night she loses her virginity. Hopeful that Nick will drop to one knee and propose when she breaks the baby news to him, Grace is heartbroken – Nick wants nothing to do with her. Her best friend, Jennifer, thinks she should get an abortion, but Grace is certain that her morally upright parents will insist that she keep the baby. After she comes clean to her super-religious, strait-laced parents, they surprise her by insisting that she terminate the pregnancy to avoid humiliating the family. But when she sees the fetus on the ultrasound, she decides she can’t get rid of it. Deciding to save the tiny life growing inside of her, Grace must face the consequences of being that girl – the good girl who got knocked up.

The Characters

To be honest, in the begining it was hard to connect with the characters.  Once I connected with Grace, however, I felt strongly about her situation and her strength of character – she just did not give up, no matter what.  I out right dispised her parents – they exemplified every radical religious view which was totally unfounded behind their own doors, or to be frank they were hyppocrittes.  I loved Jennifer as her best friend. I really enjoyed Grace getting to move in with helen, it was just what she needed and of course if you believe in fate, it brought her Charlie too. You had to love Charlie as he waited patiently getting to know Grace despite the fact she was pregnant from her one mistake.. and despite everything he fell in love for her because of her strengths and who she was, not what she had done. Grace in the end allowed herself the happiness to receive this love in return, and that was my favorite part. I really admired her taking the time after Molly  was born to go off of the grid and really figure everything out before going to college, to not just act as nothing had happened and move on – Overall though this was a difficult subject, the characters the author constructed played out realistic roles and made the best of the situationa nd highlighted the strength of especially Grace and Charlie as they navigated this diffiult situation together.

What I Though

Over all, I very much enjoyed the book. As i said above, it was a slow start, but then again right from page one you are jumping into some pretty deep issues, including abortion and being desserted by your own  family.  Once I got past the begining and got to know the characters I could really appreciate them and the story. I saw the main character’s struggle and was amazed at how she kept finding her way through, maybe not the perfect path, but a path that would get her where she needed to be and allow her to be proud of her accomplishments. I thought the writing and the story flowed well, and I didn’t feel like there werew any parts that draggedat all. I would reccommend this book to anyone – with a clear idea of the story. For my personal rating I would say 5/5 stars. It’s just something different, and i enjoy reading books that are not all about the same thing. It had a great deal of gushy romance, but it also had a strong story line and message – and i enjoyed that.

The Short Skinny on the Story Overall

If you like what you’ve heard so far, get the book and you won’t regret it. I did re-read the last chapter once over just because i liked the ending so well, but this is not a book i will rea over and over, so not something a keeper if you buy physical books – but still worth having. I reccommend the Eversion if possible. But, eithier way – get it and read it – you won’t be sorry!

Quotes I Adore

Conversation between Grace and Charlie, and I thinkn it sums up the best part of the end to this story

“I love you, too.  I always have, but I didn’t want to ruin your perfect life.  I didn’t want you to love me because you knew my parents didn’t love me anymore and I was all alone, or that I was some lost lamb who coudln’t fend for herself.” Grace sat down on the grass and Charlie knelt in front of her in the grass.

“That’s not why I love you, Grace.  I know you don’t need me to take care of you, but I wan tto.  There’s a huge difference.”  “But I do need you.  You make me feel like me, like the person I want to be, and when I was away, it just wasn’t the same,” Grace said.  “I dont want to be away from you anymore.” “So don’t leave again.” Pushing her back into the grass, Charlie stretched out next to Grace and kissed her forehead, her nose, both cheeks, her chin, and finally her lips. “it’s so short, ” he said, running his fingers through her close-cropped hair. “I chopped it off myself. Low maintence.”  “I like it, ” Charlie whispered into Grace’s ear.  “I didn’t think you were coming back to me, but Helen said I just had to be patient.” “Your aunt is the smartest woman I’ve ever met,” Grace suddently sat up. “I should tell her I’m back.  We have to tell her about Dartmouth.  She’ll be so excited.” “I have a feeling she alreadys knows,” Charlie laughted and kissed Grace again.”

I don’t have many other quotes for this – so read it – you won’t be sad!

7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

7 responses to “Review of “Screwed” by Laurie Pilssner

  1. Great review! I’ll have to read this one 🙂

    • Check it out, it’s on NetGallery right now if you want to request it. I put off reading it for awhile but really enjoyed it!

      • I actually already have it from NG! I’m currently overwhelmed with the amount of books that I want to read, but I’m happy to hear that you enjoyed it so much. So far, it’s received mixed reviews on Goodreads. Appreciate your review 🙂

      • I know what you mean. I was just checking mine out and wow they add up fast! Not something we should complain about right? Too many options can never be bad! Have a great night!

      • Haha, so true…. lots of fun things to read in the near future! Thank you and hope you have a great evening as well 🙂

  2. I know what you mean, once you start getting books on Netgallery or anywhere else, it’s hard to pick, i need to organize the stuff i want to read.. I saw the mixed reviews, and i was hesitant and it did start out slow – but the end was great. Have a great weekend!! And thanks for checking out my review!

  3. Hope you Shaninsanfran – have a great evening too!! Hopefully we all get some good reading done. I’ve gotten my post up to date for this week so now time to read some more to get some more stuff to review. =0)

Leave a Reply

