Review of “Anna and the French Kiss” by Stephanie Perkins

Published: 12/2/2010
Publisher: Penguin Publishing

The Plot:
Anna is so excited about her senior year. She has a great best friend, a great job, and a great crush that could be more…and then WHAM- her Dad ships her off to Paris and a boarding school. She’s miserable, that is, until she meets Etienne St. Clair – the world’s most perfect boy!

The only problem – he’s taken. And she may be too, if her crush ends up working out..

The year is full of romantic near misses, but how will Anna and St. Clair’s story end up? How much will her life change while she experiences Paris and this new boarding school?

My thoughts:
Most importantly – how did I not know about this author/book before? She is amazing, and I loved the writing. Anna and St. Clair and their group of friends were all very real, believeable, and it was so easy to fall in love with each of them for their personal traits. I also loved all the emotions that churned around, it was fun reliving those “strong” live/die teenage emotions from my younger years. What I really loved about this story was the strong female lead, Anna – she was not some damsel in distress, she was strong and full of warmth. The story was also very believeable, this could really happen in real life – all of it, it wasn’t some far off tale that was too amazing to be real. These could be real people and a real story from some part of the world. I love “book” moments and when St. Clair admitted his love – I realized I was holding my breath right with her!

Overall:
5 stars and more if I could give it more! If you have not read it, get it today!

Quotes I loved:
*Here I am including a quote that shows the humor, a quote that shows the love, or maybe two of those, and something I think could apply to everyone’s real everyday life!

Funny Quote First – “I moan with pleasure. “Did you just have a foodgasm?” He asks wiping ricotta from his lips. “Where have you been all my life?” I ask the beautiful panini.”

Lovey quotes:
“I’m saying I’m in love with you! I’ve been in love with you this whole bleeding year!”

“For the two of us, home isn’t a place. It is a person. And we are finally home.”

The Julie quote that stuck out to me and made me love her character all the more:
“So what do I wish for? Something I’m not sure I want? Someone I’m not sure I need? Or someone I know I can’t have?”

Everyone, get reading and let me know what you think!

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Review of “Anna and the French Kiss” by Stephanie Perkins

  1. I’m so glad you loved this!!! I didn’t read it until this past year and it instantly became one of my favorites. Ahhhh that St. Clair quote gets me every time! Chills!!!!

    • Thanks! I’m really excited about reading “Lola and The Boy Next Door” – have you read that? I loved her style of writing and I agree, the St. Clair quote makes me have the shivers too – along with his hot accent I hear in my head! Thanks for stopping by – Let me know if you have read any of her other books – I think the newest one is coming out in June.. Have a great night!

      • Haha, YES the accent in my head…. So hot haha!!! I read Lola shortly after Anna and it was still really enjoyable but I didn’t fall in love with that one. I still really enjoyed it and I know a bunch of people loved that one equally, but I was such a big Anna fan because I just related to her SO MUCH that it made the book that much more special to me. Can’t wait to hear your thoughts on Lola!! 🙂

      • I am excited to read Lola but I can see what you’re saying. Anna was really easy to relate to – I loved the all the teenage emotional..angst.. maybe not the right word, but it reminded me of being in high school and how strong every emotion was at that point. I love when I really fall in love with characters in a story, makes me enjoy it that much more – I will def let you know what I think about Lola, it’s on my TBR list for this month. I had so many things come in from NetGallery and Edelweiss at the same time I’m a bit backed up now – but I’m excited to get to that story. Have you heard about the new book coming out later this year? I think that one sounds really good. If you like that book, I think you might really like “Flat Out Love” by Jessica Parks – have you read that? I fell in love with those characters page one..such a great story, that one will be one of my favorites all time.. If you haven’t already read it, check it out – I don’t think it’s as well known as some of the other authors but I really enjoyed it..
        Thanks again for coming by my site, I really enjoy your blog too! I look forward to discussing Lola with you as well! Let me know if you check out “Flat Out Love” – would love to hear your thoughts on that!

Leave a Reply

