My First Official Book Review! Yay me! – Review for “If You Stay” by Courtnay Cole

Published Feb 2013
Series: Yes – part of the broken series – next chapter comes out later this year and is titled “If you leave”

Now – The Story: Pax is on a destructive path, using women and drugs to numb a void in his life – a hole that has been there as long as he can remember. Then he meets Mila or more correct, Mila finds him in an overdose and saves his life. Pax is thrown off by the help and care he received from Mila post the incident – and it makes him start to think about life, his life, and what direction he was going the past few years. Mila breaths fresh air into his life. On the otherside is Mila, who is not sure ag t all she should put her heart or time into someone’s hands that seems like they will break it at once – but soon even she sees they have a connection that at least deserves a chance. And thus, the relationship builds. Pax knows he will have a lot of hard work to do to overcome his demons, and Mila wants to be right by his side. Their story is of an unlikely romance, one that like life is full of black, grey, and white areas.

My Thoughts:
I was drawn into the story almost from the first page, and read the entire book in 1 day – literally couldn’t put it down. I really could see the characters and found that i could relate to some of them – which always pulls me in just a bit more. What I like about this story is that it is real. It’s not an overly dramatic big ending romance, nor is it a fairtale version – it’s a real life relationship. The kind where times can be dark as black, good as white, and then mixed up as grey. This is real life, and the characters here deal with real life issues. That is one thing I truly enjoy. The characters intimacy i also enjoyed. The fact that they are opposites, but fit each other in every way – it tells of true love, not easy love you read about that’s always perfect, but real love where they will have troulbes, but this situation they will love each other through the issues.

Fantastic Take Away Quote or 2:g
My first quote is my favorite, it was read at my weddint,g and seeing it here again in the struggle – makes a lot of sense to me and how it shows the strenghts of love when tested. it goes “Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy or boast, it is not arrogant or rude. It does not insist on its own way, it is not irritable of resentful; it does not rejoice at wrongdoing, but rejoices in the truth. Love bears all things, believes all things, hopes all things, and endures all things. Love never fails.” (I Corinthians 13:4=8a)

There is one more I had to sahre — “Truly, Though, life is just a mixture of good and bad, of varying shades of grays and whites, and black. Life is about being alive, and with that life brings mistakes.

The overwhelming through throughout this story and the characters is that Love does not fail, True love never fails. I’m lucky enough to have this and i hope you do too!

Post-It-Post
Get the book and read it, if you’re not sure try the library, but I would reccommend buying it as a keeper – i could see this being read time and again. It’s worth the space on your bookshelf or in your EBook library. Let me know what you think!!

Above all – Keep Reading everyone!
Kelley

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “My First Official Book Review! Yay me! – Review for “If You Stay” by Courtnay Cole

  1. Pingback: My First Official Book Review! Yay me! – Review for “If You Stay” by Courtnay Cole | Book Girl From South Carolina

Leave a Reply

